What is the best method for you to learn languages?

One thing that I realized in polyglot community, that polyglot mostly learn by themselves, not in school or course. That is interesting to know and share your most effective method.
For me, I just having genuine conversation in target language. No book, no grammar, but I will acquire it unconsciously. I like it.

12 Likes

In my experience, Iā€™ve studied my languages depending on how close the target language is to my native languages. As much as I enjoy learning Slavic languages, for some of them, I have been studying some of them with a tutor because they are not easy. Haha. For Portuguese, which is a language that I just started, I started learning with apps, and then I have been practicing recently, since Spanish is a similar language.

3 Likes

I have been using mostly language learning apps and self-study workbooks. I also use media input(videos, books and music) in my target languages to familiarize myself with the sound of the language. Only recently began participating in a Spanish conversation group. I am working towards fluency in three languages, but it can be a bit difficult on oneā€™s own. I love the discovery process while learning a new language.

14 Likes

discovery process, I like it too. I love when I realized which method works best for me :blush:

3 Likes

what do you learn with tutor? the grammar or speaking practice? I always use tutor to practice speaking

1 Like

It depends on the language, but generally I focus on grammar first and how I can combine words to create sentences. For vocabulary, I analyse songs that I like with the English translation next to it or TV series to find words that I donā€™t know and that I want to learn. And honestly I use Duolingo (Iā€™m not going to hide it) mainly for vocabulary. Iā€™m basically a input learner (a lot of it) and I donā€™t practise speaking that much, but as Iā€™m not in a hurry with languages I donā€™t need to speak them as soon as possible.