The science of language learning

Hey friends,
As I have been learning Russian and the endangered language, Tsez, I have been greatly helped by paying attention to the latest research in the science of language acquisition, neuroscience, psychology and motivation theory. I have a PhD in linguistics and work at the intersection of these fields, but it’s been fascinating to discover how this information has helped me personally for my own language learning goals. I’m wondering if others would be interested in summaries of what I’m learning? I would do my best to make it jargon-free.

20 Likes

Hi Daniel!
I’d be interested to hear what the state-of-the-art is in this field! Maybe that would boost my motivation to finally take learning schedules and objectives more seriously :sweat_smile:
Also, I am currently a PhD student myself - I am in consumer research but I also try to link my research to linguistic matters, so I’m curious about your scientific perspective!

5 Likes

Hey Domi,
Nice to meet you! The things I have been reading have definitely helped me be confident that I’m not wasting my time on methods that have scientifically been demonstrated to be be less effective. The psychology of it has also been fascinating. We all know how important attitude and motivation are in reaching our goals.

2 Likes

I would also be fascinated, especially as I learn Russian!

1 Like

This is such a fascinating topic, I’d love to hear more about it. I, personally, don’t mind leaning in on the academic level of studies, but I totally understand that not everyone has the ability to comprehend at that level. I look forward to learning about learning languages from you.

2 Likes

Super keen to hear anything you wish to share!

2 Likes

I’m signing up to talk about this in one of the sessions during the conference, so I hope you’ll join.

Also, what is the ideal format for post-conference ongoing interaction in this space? Twitter?

7 Likes