Southeast Asian Languages

Hello everyone! I am very interested in Southeast Asian languages so I am wondering if there are any native SEA language speakers (mainly Bahasa Melayu/Bahasa Indonesia, Thai and Vietnamese) here? I would like to interact and learn more about these cultures and languages. Thank you :grin:

7 Likes

Hi, a native Indonesian here interested in learning Thai and Vietnamese. In terms of Malay, I can only passively comprehend the language as it has so many similar words with a whole different meaning (we always find this amusing!).

I knew a few Thai phrases from my past travel, but never really learned the script because it somehow seems so
 daunting. Both Thai and Vietnamese are indeed challenging and also very exciting to learn about, especially with the tones. Looking forward to talk with everyone here!

2 Likes

Hi! So, although it’s an L2 for me, I used to speak and write Malay at a near-native level (I studied it in school and used it regularly with Malay friends). I’m admittedly a little rusty these days since I haven’t spoken it for over 20 years.

Something that has been percolating in my head about Malay lately is the politeness levels of certain personal pronouns. I wouldn’t have thought them important – because I’d always felt that Malay culture was generally easygoing and not super formal – but even then there are rules around familiarity and politeness built into the language which are liable to cause offense if not respected. For instance, the usage of the words for “I” and “you” can be very complicated:

• “Aku” and “Engkau”/“Kau” are considered extremely informal and can come across as rude if used with strangers or elders.
  • “Gua” and “Lu” (borrowings from Hokkien), as well as “Hang” are very informal and are sometimes used in a joking way (or is used conventionally in dialect).