How do you assess your language level?

We all filled in our profiles here and added our native languages and target languages on the levels A1 -C2. How do you know that your levels are accurate? Did you take a language proficiency exam, a placement test or a course on a certain level? Did a teacher assess your level or did you assess it with the help of the CEFR (and its companion volume)? Or is it just a general feeling you have about your level? Do you adjust your level when not having used the language for a long time (e.g. you have a C1 certificate but then after 20 years of not using the language, you deem yourself intermediate and not advanced anymore)? Do you tend to undestimate or overestimate your level?

4 Likes

Before I heard about the A1-C2 levels, I described my language levels “tourist”, “grammar school” (school up to age 14), “high school or college level”, and “I understand movies”.

I totally underestimate my level. I studied French for 5 years and probably reached B2 in speaking and reading (25 years ago). The last time I went to France was 22 years ago, and I was fine with non-native speakers, but did have trouble with a couple native speakers. Now I say I’m advanced beginner, despite understanding most basic conversations in French. I still don’t say I speak very well, only because I know how well I used to speak it. But I’m sure I can participate in a conversation if I needed to.

3 Likes