Persian/Farsi Resources?

After listening to the excellent talk Iran: Land of language and literature by Mahya Mirsadeghi, I feel inspired to start learning Farsi again. I started learning earlier this year but found it difficult to source good quality/engaging resources. I quickly got overwhelmed by everything and gave up and just focused on Korean where there are so many resources I possibly have too many haha.

I’m a visual learner so I find anything that’s visually engaging helpful. I’m also a very social learner so ways of learning which allow connection with others are always welcome too!

4 Likes

Hey Emily,

I am an intermediate Persian learner and I totally relate to your experience with curating resources. I found I had to do a lot of digging (online and into my pockets) to get resources I enjoyed.

There is no doubt many more, but this is off the top of my head.

Language

Podcasts:

• Khodcast
  • Album Pod
  • Podgap (but I recommend their Patreon!)
  • SBS Persian (News and Australian affairs)

YouTube: There’s HEAPS, but these were the ones I watched most watched

Listening:

• Aparat (Iran’s YouTube)
  • MakTub (audio books)

Apps:

Tutors:

• iTalki
  • NaTakallam

There’s more listed here, some of which I haven’t used.
And then Instagram is a whooooole other story. That place is a goldmine.

6 Likes

I must caveat that the levels here are all over the place.

Also, I am yet to find ANY such thing as “graded readers”. Bilingual books are either old poetry or children’s books for vocab or that parents read to children.

For a visual beginner, I would recommend:

• FC Lang Media (for grammar basics and writing)
  • Colloquial Persian (for spoken language and exercises)
  • Glossika (for listening, reading and speaking SPOKEN language)
  • Drops (for simple vocab drilling)
  • Mondly (for simple vocab and sentence drilling)
  • LingQ (for reading and vocab study - you can import stuff!)