New to Japanese - Help

Hi everyone,

I have decided I want to start learning Japanese but I have never learnt a language outside of Romance/Germanic family. So I was just wondering what your thoughts are on the best way to go about it? And if anyone has any resources that have been really effective for them that would be so helpful!

I know this question has probably been asked before but any help is really appreciated (I’m a native English speaker in the U.K. if that helps for tips and resources)

9 Likes

Some good tips and resources on www.tofugu.com. Lots of good stuff there - take your time to explore it. Perhaps start with these two:

7 Likes

Thank you Ron! I’ll check them out.

2 Likes

Many years ago, I started learning Japanese through the Teach Yourself series book and accompanying CD. It’s great for learning basic sound structure and sentences. However, I didn’t get any kana and Kanji practice. My son was attending the local Japanese immersion school at the time and I wanted to be able to help him learn. I still currently study Japanese, but it’s not a priority, more of a curiosity. I would, for easy understanding, find some children’s programming for learning hiragana, katakana and Kanji. One neat trick, if you can create the phonemes in Spanish, you can create the phonemes in Japanese.

4 Likes

Yes, same here. Thank you for starting this thread!

1 Like

Same Kai! Thanks for starting this thread :blush:

1 Like

@PinAngel thank you for your help!

and @Zeina-AR-DE-FR-EN and @heatherk you’re welcome :slight_smile:

3 Likes