Learning languages without many study materials available

Hi everyone,

I wanted to start a discussion and hopefully learn from all of you how to approach learning languages without many (any) study materials available.

To set the scene - I am studying Tagalog at the moment and there is sooooooo little content in that language at upper beginner / lower intermediate level! All that exists is either extremely basic beginner stuff (where most of the content is in English) or native level material with a lot of slang (think funny comedian stuff). There is of course news and official TV programs, but that’s again, just a niche that is at the upper levels of learning.

Generalising for other ‘small’ languages, there is just not enough comprehensible input at (lower) intermediate level. No audio books, no subtitles, no comics, no thriving online communities
 You know what I mean, right?

So the question is - how to approach learning such languages? Is it more about creating your own content (in which case what are the common tools)? Or the only (obvious) way is to learn directly from a native speaker through a large volume of interaction (just like children learn)?

Please share your views and ideas! There are no wrong ways of doing it, just many tools in the toolbox that can be mastered and used when appropriate.

Thank you!

4 Likes

Interesting and very relevant topic!

I think there is a beautiful intersection between field linguistics and language learning when it comes to underresearched, underdocumented, underinstitutionalised languages.

Some linguists (myself and my supervisor included) use the so-called Monolingual Method to document indigenous languages for which there are no previous materials, as we are the first ones to create materials to start with.