Languages & love

Who else on here learned or is learning a language for love? :cupid:
For me, it was Polish and now we’re raising our 2 kids using ml@h (minority language at home). I only knew 2 words before I met him. Tell us your language love story :heart_eyes:

3 Likes

It’s the reverse for me. I started learning Russian for a few months and before I know it I dated a monolingual lady who speaks only Russian. It was a very short relationship though but the impact on my language learning was huge, so I didn’t lose anything.

2 Likes

Hi there,
I started learning German when my girlfriend moved to Austria for studies and work. Now we live together in Vienna:) I started studying on my own some years ago and last January I wanted to assess my level so I took a B2 exam which I passed easily. I have been learning the language like playing a game without a certain plan or consistency, watching youtube videos listening to music, using Duolingo, and visiting Vienna until I finally also moved in. I did take an intensive 1-month preparation course for the B2 exams though.

3 Likes

I will tell you a story.

I’m Jewish, from Buenos Aires, Argentina, my great-grandparents were from Poland and Ukraine. However, I had always curiosity for the others culture. I remember in 2002 when I learned Catalan in six weeks thanks to a friend of mine who have struggling to write to me correctly in Spanish. But this was the entry to an amazing language, and an amazing culture.

I remember when I befriended a Basque girl in a forum, in 2003, that friendship became enough close to chat with her everyday for three years. I learned Basque in three years. And I’m not Basque. Only by chat and by the will of loving another person.

3 Likes