I'm Nina, a PhD student who does research on language learning

Hi!
My name is Nina and I’m a PhD student from Germany.

I’ve loved language learning since I was in high school and became really passionate about it in university (procrastination?). My native language is German and I speak English fluently (duh!). I think my Korean has also been getting pretty decent. I understand quite a bit on Swedish and speak some Japanese. This year I’m really interested in starting Turkish and Mandarin.

But I also wanted to bring my passion for languages into my PhD research - so I study how people learn languages self-directed and how they use online resources (like YouTube, or apps, or this conference even!). I want to learn about everyone’s experiences, motivations, tipps and tricks.

I’m also looking for people who might be willing to do a research interview with me - especially if you make videos about language learning online. You’re the experts - so if you’d be willing to help a starting researcher out, please contact me any time.

Thanks and I hope we have an amazing conference!

8 Likes

Welcome Nina,

I would be glad to be interviewed, but I am no professional language teacher or anything. If I can be of help, though, please consider me as a candidate for interviewing.
I hope you enjoy your time at the conference.

1 Like

Hi Nina, amazing hearing from you !!!
I am a self learner and part time linguist (lol) but my love and interest are genuine. My native language is Portuguese and I’ve started a youtube channel where I like to talk about my point of view and of others.
Let me know if you are interested in an interview :blush:

1 Like

Hi Nina!