Hello, I am Heather and I am addicted to languages

Hi everyone! I am an American living in the Netherlands. I was hoping to make some friends with people who love languages. I am kind of shy, but I decided this year not to be shy anymore.

I have loved languages since it occurred to me that they were taught in school and could be learned (for some reason it hit me like a freight train all at once).
I started learning Spanish in Junior High School and the next year I added French. In college, I studied a bit of Russian. Then years later, I learned of a place near my house that was teaching Swedish and I fell in love with Swedish.
I started learning Dutch after moving to the Netherlands.
I am now focusing on Italian.

Most people would probably consider me a dabbler, but how could you not be when there are so many languages out there just begging to be learned/studied. I don’t speak these languages to a high level, but I decided this year that I will work to change that. It is time to brush off the dust on my languages.

21 Likes

Hi Heather! I can totally relate with you. Sometimes I wish I can focus on just 1-2 languages but then sooo many other languages seem like so much fun, I always end up dabbling in a lil bit of everything. My wishlist now consists of 6 languages and counting!

4 Likes

Welcome Heather,
I, too, am a bit of a dabbler. I am so enthusiastic about languages that I’m trying to simultaneously learn 6 to different levels.
I am happy to see a fellow shy person. I’ve only recently put myself out there, at least online. I’m sure you’ll have a great time at the Polyglot Conference. Everyone seems so wonderful and welcoming.
Languages are great!

4 Likes

Hi Heather,

Nice name :slight_smile:

I also and hoping to make some friends with people who love langugages - I would love to be your friend! I am not particularly shy, but I find that making friends as an adult can be more challenging than when we were kids.