Hello from DC!

Hi Everyone, my name is Kaitlyn. I live just outside DC in the US (Bethesda, MD), and I’ve been a total language geek since I was a child. English is my native language, and my Spanish and Mandarin are advanced (but a bit rusty). I’m at an Advanced Beginner level in Russian (maybe Intermediate on a good day!), and my Irish is rudimentary. I’ve dabbled a bit in Swedish and Arabic, and I studied some French at school.

There’s a list of language I hope to learn, but right now I’m trying to get my current languages all at B2 or better before I add any more. This is my very first Polyglot Conference, and I’m very excited to participate and meet everyone!

6 Likes

Hi, Kaitlyn! Nice to meet someone else from Maryland.

I’m Fred, and I live in MD but closer to Baltimore than DC. My parents are from Taiwan, so I can speak Mandarin Chinese and a little bit of Taiwanese. I was born and raised in the US, so English is my primary language. I’ve also learned Spanish and Japanese. I’ve also dabbled in a bunch of others, but those are the languages I’d feel comfortable claiming to speak. I’ve previously attend the Polyglot Conference and LangFest.
我是陳維民. 我的爸爸媽媽是從台灣來的,所以我會講國語,也會一點台語. 我是在美國出生長大的,所以我會講英文. 我也學過了日文和西班牙文.
私はフレッドだ。高等学校と大学で日本語を勉強した。両親が台湾からきて、中国語と台湾語ができる。アメリカで生まれて英語ができる。スペイン語もできる。
Yo soy Fred. Aprendí español cuando asistía a la escuela secundaria. Mis padres son de Taiwan. Por eso, puedo hablar chino y taiwanés. También puedo hablar japonés.

3 Likes

你好 Fred! 认识你很高兴!我从来没去过台湾,但是很多人告诉我台湾是非常漂亮的地方。 我希望我一天能去看一看。

Español fue la primera idioma extranjera yo estudiaba en mi vida. En Los Estados Unidos, hay muchas escuelas que requieren que los estudiantes estudian el español o el francés, así yo estudiaba mucho español y un poquito francés :slight_smile: ¡Mucho gusto, Fred!

2 Likes