Hello from Canada!

Hi everyone! I’m a high school teacher from BC, Canada (near Vancouver) and speak English (natively), French and Spanish. I’m also conversational in Swedish and conversational (but rusty) in Italian. I’ve recently started learning Irish, but have not yet reached an A1 level (and I studied German a few years ago, but only got to an A1 level and haven’t been maintaining it much lately).

Besides languages, I’m interested in the intersection of learning disabilities, ADHD, giftedness and emotional/behavioural problems. If anyone happens to share this interest, it’d be cool to share resources as most of those I’m aware of come from the US and I would like a more global perspective.

I also enjoy travel, reading, hiking and photography.

I look forward to connecting with others!

Cheers,

Heather

12 Likes

@heatherjosephine good to meet you. I’m a teacher, too. I teach languages as a private teacher.

I’m very interested in giftedness. I want to make my classes awesome and my dream is that many people become multilingual while having fun and knowing how important it is.

6 Likes

That sounds awesome! My number one goal as a teacher is always to make my classes fun. If students enjoy it, they’re more likely to continue learning later. Unfortunately, a lot of Canadian teenagers come into class with the opinion that French sucks :frowning: I try to change that!

8 Likes

Have you tried making them talking to a French speaker using Zoom, Skyper, or whatever or playing games that “use” French?

Hi!

I’m a French Canadian from Quebec and I had students in my class who didn’t like English either when I was in high school.