Greetings from Australia

Good Morning All
My name is Nicki. I was born in England, but I moved to South Australia back in 2007.
This is my very first time at the Polyglot Conference, having only discovered it existed earlier this year. However, I have been learning languages for quite a few years now.
I started French and German in high school (adding in a one-year GCSE in Italian while doing my A-Levels), and those three remain my more advanced foreign languages.
In later years I picked up Czech (upper beginner), Danish (lower intermediate) and Icelandic (Beginner – on-again-off-again due to scarce resources), all three fully self-taught.
More recently, I started to teach myself Japanese about two years ago (upper beginner) and then also picked up Korean about 18 months ago (initially fully self-taught, although I am now also taking some classes through the Korean Cultural Centre here in Australia) (upper beginner).
Since moving from the UK to Australia, I’ve been worrying that lack of use is leaving some of my languages rusty, so this year I have made an effort to work on all of them more again, and I am enjoying spending time on them so far and plan to continue this into 2022.
As I kind of expected when I registered for this conference, a good 80% of the events are taking place late at night/overnight for me, so I cannot participate to any great extent in most of the live stuff, though I will try to watch some of the recorded sessions once they are available.
I am always keen to chat to fellow language learners, though, and to make new friends around the world, so please do feel free to say ‘hi’.
Best wishes to all and I hope everyone has a great time during the conference.
Nicki

1 Like

Hi Nicki.
My name’s Michelle. It’s nice to see there’s someone else here in the Australian time zones! I’m in Sydney, and I’ve been trying to go to some of the late night (for me) activities, but mostly been sticking to watching the recorded talks (which are great!).