Greek Resources for absolute beginner

Would really appreciate it , if anyone can point me to some online resources for Greek for absolute beginner.

Especially speaking.

Thanks in advance!

Hello. I’m also a beginner in Greek, about two months into learning. I’ve used a variety of resources and some have been better than others. Here is a quick summary:

YouTube - There are some great channels for learning Greek, even as an absolute beginner. I like Learn Greek with Zoi and Learn Greek with Lina.

LingQ - I use LingQ and it’s my preferred learning platform, especially for improving reading comprehension and vocabulary building. But LingQ’s absolute beginner materials are a little disorganized and have some technical issues.

Staellinika - a recently launched resource targeted for the Greek diaspora. Free and very well-organized. Currently aimed for younger learners, but I have benefitted very much from their content.

GreekPod101 - I resisted signing up with them for nearly two months, as I didn’t like their relentless marketing. But I went ahead and paid for the premium plan about a week ago and have to admit that the materials are high-quality and well organized. I’ve shifted most of my study time over to this platform now.

Hope this helps, and good luck!

2 Likes

Thanks for the info! Will check out the YouTube channel first.

Really appreciate all the resources that you have recommended especially your sharing on each one of them.

1 Like

I learned of the Language Transfer courses from someone on this forum. Language Transfer does audio courses for speaking languages. The courses are targeted for complete beginners. Their format is similar to the Michel Thomas Method. LT offers multiple languages, including Greek. I haven’t tried the Greek course yet, but I tried two other languages and found them to be very helpful for beginners. In addition to their website, they also have apps for iOS and Android. LT is free, so it’s a risk-free option to try out.