Greating from Brazil

About me : trying to learn German, Speaking badly 6 languages (French, English, Portuguese, Spanish , Chti and Picard) understanding Italian. I did study Arabic and Swahili but forgot every thing. At the age of 60 I have the impression that learning a language is more difficult than before, or may be because German is hard to learn (or both). Using Anki program extensively to learn German. Next language I’ll learn is Dutch.

1 Like

Hi. Chti and Picard, huh? So does that mean you are originally from northern France or are you a big fan of the réalisateur Dany Boon? :grinning:

Born in Saint-Quentin, (Picardie) that’s why :smile:

Hello again,

I’m not sure this hast something to do with age. I’m only 36, I studied Russian at University for about 2 years only early 20ies and I found this to be the hardest language for me of all.

I’ve learned English and French successfully in school to a C2 (English) and B2 (French) level and never experienced the difficulties I had with Russian although I did nothing different with Russian.

I started Arabic and Spanish about 5 years ago… Spanish is fairly easy for me, but I did have some troubles with memorizing Arabic vocabulary in the beginning.

I’m not sure if it has to do with the languages themselves or if I had a bad approach/the wrong teacher or setting for Russian… I think it largely depends on our background, our knowledge of other languages and also if the teacher and learning style fits our own preferences. I only recently started taking private lessons on italki in Arabic and my speaking confidence has improved a lot more during those couple of weeks than during the past 5 years of group courses at a community college. Maybe I’ll give Russian another try some day :slight_smile:

2 Likes