Elise from (currently) Cincinnati

Hi everyone,
I’m Élise, currently located in Cincinnati. I’m new to the Conference, though it was spoken so highly of at this year’s Gathering that I just had to check it out.
I’m a translator and writer, and divide my time other than that between chess, photography, streaming, travel, and learning one language or other (I tend to rotate them, working on one till I get bored and then switching).
My working languages include most major EU languages, a few smaller EU languages, as well as Russian, Japanese, Korean, and Yiddish.
Languages I’m interested in include basically all of them, but my current projects are Finnish, Turkish, Vietnamese, and Farsi.
I look forward to meeting you all!

7 Likes

Hello and welcome. It’s wonderful to meet you. I hope you enjoy all the conference has to offer. It’s a good group here.

Hi Élise! This is Elise :wink: from the Netherlands. Currently based in Georgia, travelling around and soon starting on a Workaway project in Tbilisi.

It sounds like you know many languages, that’s truly impressive! Did you grow up with them or did you pick all of them up later in life?

1 Like

Hi Élise,

Welcome! :slight_smile:
I’ve seen in your profile that you have 4 native languages. How did your parents manage that?
I’m currently raising my baby girl (1 year) bilingually alone (as my partner doesn’t speak any language properly – don’t ask :roll_eyes:). Would love to hear how somebody can learn 4 languages as a baby :slight_smile:

Thank you for the welcome. It really is a lovely group. This year was both my first Polyglot Gathering and my first Polyglot Conference, and I’m quite glad to have participated in both.

1 Like

Hi Ramona,

Thanks for the welcome.

It’s actually three, not four (though with Japanese I’m close enough that Japanese colleagues actually have said they prefer my translations into Japanese over those of native Japanese translators, and I do get taken for native often enough on the phone).