At what age did you start to learn foreign language?

At what age did you start to learn foreign language? What was the reason for that? Did you like it or you felt forced to study it because of school / family? If you had some bad experience with your first foreign language studies, what happened that it changed and now you like languages?

3 Likes

I started when I was 7 and I used Duolingo, but I didn’t learn that much. I didn’t get back into learning languages until I started learning Spanish at school. I’ve always liked learning them, but I found it much easier after I had a teacher that explained how the language worked.

3 Likes

I began studying Spanish in high school. It was the choice that made sense for me, as my mom would randomly use a Spanish word at home. Note: she’s not bilingual, just liked a few Spanish words from her language classes in high school. I enjoyed Spanish very much, but didn’t continue with it after high school. I had a decent understanding of Latin, from being a biology nerd. I remember also having a great time studying my dad’s Greek lesson book from his time in college. I would really have to brush up, if I wanted to speak/read it now. It wasn’t until about 3 years ago that I picked languages up again. I chose to use Duolingo and started studying Spanish, German, Romanian and Japanese all at the same time. Each language has a reason for wanting to learn. So I suppose the age I truly started studying languages was 35 y.o.

6 Likes